Spuds Are us (1): “Frittata Romana” – A misnomer because no eggs are involved in this Potato mash but Tomato Sauce is

 

 

COURSE CORRECTION TO THIS POST AS OF 26 FEBRUARY 2024:

JUST THE OTHER DAY (AND HENCE THE CAPITAL LETTERS – I LIKE CAPITAL LETTERS NOW AND THEN) I CHANCED UPON A VIDEO ABOUT THE RESTAURANT WAY TO MAKE THIS RECIPE. AND IT IS CALLED A “FRITTATA ROMANA” – SO THERE YOU GO, THAT’S THE PROPER NAME FOR THIS RECIPE.  FORGET ABOUT MY INSTRUCTIONS, ALTHOUGHT THEY WERE PRETTY CLOSE CONSIDERING I WAS GUESSTING, AND FOLLOW THOSE ON THE LINK:

HERE IS THE LINK: https://www.gamberorosso.it/notizie/storie/frittata-romana-ricetta/?

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

If you like potatoes, you might very well like this recipe.

If you do not like potatoes, good day to you.

REQUIREMENTS

You have to make a very simple tomato sauce with just onions and fresh tomatoes.
Or you could use plum tomatoes or a passata, shop bought.
Or even some concentrated tomato puré out of a tube.
The point is you do need tomatoes. And onions.  And salt.  And I suggest olive oil too because that makes everthing tie together beautifully.

Next the potatoes have to be boiled into submission, and the tomato and onion sauce be included in its cooking.  Keep an eye on those spuds, you might want to add some water now and then, and keep a wooden spoon for stirring, as they can stick to the bottom of the pan.  Once tender, you mash everything up and serve.  They can be reheated the following day (but do not reheat more than once please).

I wrote a post about it years ago  (“The Saucy Potato”, see link below) and it’s a bit long so I expect not everyone will want to read it.  However, I do want to point out that MFK Fisher was in raptures over a particular potato dish and if potatoes were good enough for her … well, what can I say?  I quote a passage from one of her books on the subject in my post …

Life without potatoes would be very sad for me indeed …

The Saucy Potato – Patata Schiacciata col Pomodoro

8 thoughts on “Spuds Are us (1): “Frittata Romana” – A misnomer because no eggs are involved in this Potato mash but Tomato Sauce is

Leave a comment