FREEZER CLEAN-OUT DELICIOUS PASTA RECIPE

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade they say.  What would be a good proverb for when one has to clear out a freezer?

This was the ‘picture’ of my freezer on Saturday afternoon, November 11th 2017.  The invasion of ice.  Too much scruffy looking plastic.  Stuffed to the icy gills.

 

IMG_1764Time to give in to the urge and get on with the purge.

IMG_1767It was then that I decided that our dinner that evening would be scraps of the freezer clean-out.  I won’t bore you with the entire menu but there is one recipe that I would love to share with you and is the reason for this blog post.

Visiting Canadian friends invited us to spend a weekend with them in Tuscany at the end of September.  The house they had rented was near Castello di Ama and within easy driving distance of Greve, where we went to have lunch the day after we arrived. On the Sunday, our last day, the charming owners of the house put on a cooking class for us.  The lesson began with the dessert, a tiramisu.

IMG_0781

This was followed  by grilled vegetables and tomatoes seasoned with herbs growing in their gorgeous garden.  And then the very Tuscan “pappa al pomodoro” (best pappa al pomodoro of my life!).  On the grill the equally Tuscanissimo Fiorentina steak, together with sausages and fresh bacon strips.  And not last, because it figured just after the pappa al pomodoro,  and most definitely not least, was an un-Tuscan pasta dish consisting of … wait for it … sausages and mascarpone.  Served with plenty of grated parmesan.  Three ingredients only, full of meat fat and dairy fat, and incredibly delicious!  Being dealt a double whammy of mascarpone in the course of one meal had us almost in hysterics … it was just so good and, amazingly, we managed to digest it all!

The photos speak for themselves.

IMG_0799

IMG_0803

IMG_0817

IMG_0819It was a wee bit cold but there was no way we were going to forgo eating al fresco. What a great lunch!

11And this is what I rustled up after purging my freezer last Saturday … only as it happened, I didn’t have enough marscarpone and so had to add some defrosted gorgonzola to the mix to make do.  Call this the gorgonzola version.

Well worth making, I promise you. Give it a try!

 

4 thoughts on “FREEZER CLEAN-OUT DELICIOUS PASTA RECIPE

  1. And I thought it was only the Bolognese that went in for this kind of meal! Speaking of Greve…I really enjoyed a pasta with fresh artichokes and Gorgonzola and can see how the combination of both cheeses would work. Tonight @#5 Paccheri with Italian sausage, tomato and cream sauce…the fridge had a zucchini that Joe was photographing…so not wanting to waste it…into the sauce it goes! Did I mention how we could not live without our freestanding freezer? I should sent you a photo…cute green baskets to boot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I could come up with such culinary delights with the contents of my freezer….which desperately needs emptying. Can’t wait to try the sausage, mascarpone recipe…looks delicious and of comfort on a cold evening. Thank you for always sharing such special and doable recipes. xxx

    Like

Leave a comment