Fake Fish and Any Excuse for Burrata

IMG_7008 IMG_7009Judy Witts Francini put up a photo on Instagram yesterday of a dish called ‘pesce finto’, meaning ‘fake fish’.  I am not sure it’s the sort of recipe that would appeal to people outside Italy.  Which is a shame because I, and Judy evidently too, think it is quite delicious, not to mention easy to prepare.  Basically it is tinned tuna and mashed potatoes … both usually a staple in any home.

I wrote a post about it a few years ago which I don’t mind reposting.  The recipe is my tweak on this recipe which also includes burrata – and so many people I know adore burrata: https://myhomefoodthatsamore.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/faking-fish-il-pesce-finto/

I hope you enjoy reading about this Italian nursery food comfort dish.  Who knows, you might even be prompted to try it out.

Leave a Reply

